

2009 HAY 11 PM 4: 07

WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE OF STATE

SEVENTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE.
REGULAR SESSION, 2009

ENROLLED

Senate Bill No. 338

(By Senators Oliverio, Prezioso, Williams, Sypolt, Edgell and Kessler)

[Passed April 9, 2009; to take effect July 1, 2009.]



2009 MAY 11 PM 4: 07

OFFICE WEST VIRGINIA SECRETARY OF STATE

ENROLLED

Senate Bill No. 338

(By Senators Oliverio, Prezioso, Williams, Sypolt, Edgell and Kessler)

[Passed April 9, 2009; to take effect July 1, 2009.]

AN ACT to amend and reenact §51-2-1 of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended, relating to authorizing an additional circuit court judge to the seventeenth judicial circuit.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

That §51-2-1 of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended be amended and reenacted to read as follows:

ARTICLE 2. CIRCUIT COURTS; CIRCUIT JUDGES.

- §51-2-1. Judicial circuits; terms of office; legislative findings and declarations; elections; terms of court.
 - 1 (a) The state shall be divided into the following judicial
 - 2 circuits with the following number of judges:
 - 3 (1) The counties of Brooke, Hancock and Ohio shall
 - 4 constitute the first circuit and shall have four judges;

- 5 (2) The counties of Marshall, Tyler and Wetzel shall 6 constitute the second circuit and shall have two judges;
- 7 (3) The counties of Doddridge, Pleasants and Ritchie
- 8 shall constitute the third circuit and shall have one judge;
- 9 (4) The counties of Wood and Wirt shall constitute the
- 10 fourth circuit and shall have three judges;
- 11 (5) The counties of Calhoun, Jackson, Mason and Roane
- 12 shall constitute the fifth circuit and shall have two judges;
- 13 (6) The county of Cabell shall constitute the sixth circuit
- 14 and shall have four judges;
- 15 (7) The county of Logan shall constitute the seventh
- 16 circuit and shall have two judges;
- 17 (8) The county of McDowell shall constitute the eighth
- 18 circuit and shall have two judges;
- 19 (9) The county of Mercer shall constitute the ninth
- 20 circuit and shall have three judges;
- 21 (10) The county of Raleigh shall constitute the tenth
- 22 circuit and shall have three judges;
- 23 (11) The counties of Greenbrier and Pocahontas shall
- 24 constitute the eleventh circuit and shall have two judges;
- 25 (12) The county of Fayette shall constitute the twelfth
- 26 circuit and shall have two judges;
- 27 (13) The county of Kanawha shall constitute the thir-
- 28 teenth circuit and shall have seven judges;
- 29 (14) The counties of Braxton, Clay, Gilmer and Webster
- 30 shall constitute the fourteenth circuit and shall have two
- 31 judges;
- 32 (15) The county of Harrison shall constitute the fifteenth
- 33 circuit and shall have three judges;

- 34 (16) The county of Marion shall constitute the sixteenth
- 35 circuit and shall have two judges;
- 36 (17) The county of Monongalia shall constitute the
- 37 seventeenth circuit and shall have two judges: Provided,
- 38 That effective July 1, 2009, said circuit court shall have
- 39 three judges.
- 40 (18) The county of Preston shall constitute the eigh-
- 41 teenth circuit and shall have one judge;
- 42 (19) The counties of Barbour and Taylor shall constitute
- 43 the nineteenth circuit and shall have one judge;
- 44 (20) The county of Randolph shall constitute the twenti-
- 45 eth circuit and shall have one judge;
- 46 (21) The counties of Grant, Mineral and Tucker shall
- 47 constitute the twenty-first circuit and shall have two
- 48 judges;
- 49 (22) The counties of Hampshire, Hardy and Pendleton
- 50 shall constitute the twenty-second circuit and shall have
- 51 two judges;
- 52 (23) The counties of Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan
- 53 shall constitute the twenty-third circuit and shall have
- 54 five judges;
- 55 (24) The county of Wayne shall constitute the
- 56 twenty-fourth circuit and shall have two judges;
- 57 (25) The counties of Lincoln and Boone shall constitute
- 58 the twenty-fifth circuit and shall have two judges;
- 59 (26) The counties of Lewis and Upshur shall constitute
- 60 the twenty-sixth circuit and shall have one judge;
- 61 (27) The county of Wyoming shall constitute the
- 62 twenty-seventh circuit and shall have one judge;

- 63 (28) The county of Nicholas shall constitute the 64 twenty-eighth circuit and shall have one judge;
- 65 (29) The county of Putnam shall constitute the 66 twenty-ninth circuit and shall have two judges;
- 67 (30) The county of Mingo shall constitute the thirtieth 68 circuit and shall have one judge; and
- 69 (31) The counties of Monroe and Summers shall consti-70 tute the thirty-first circuit and shall have one judge.
- 71 (b) The Kanawha County circuit court shall be a court of 72 concurrent jurisdiction with each single judge circuit 73 where the sitting judge in the single judge circuit is 74 unavailable by reason of sickness, vacation or other 75 reason.
- 76 (c) Any judge in office on the effective date of the 77 reenactment of this section shall continue as a judge of the 78 circuit as constituted under prior enactments of this 79 section, unless sooner removed or retired as provided by 80 law until December 31, 2008.
- (d) The term of office of all circuit court judges shall be for eight years. The term of office for all circuit court judges elected during the general election conducted in the year 2008 shall commence on January 1, 2009, and end on December 31, 2016.
- (e) For election purposes, in every judicial circuit having two or more judges there shall be numbered divisions corresponding to the number of circuit judges in each circuit. Each judge shall be elected at large from the entire circuit. In each numbered division of a judicial circuit, the candidates for nomination or election shall be voted upon and the votes cast for the candidates in each division shall be tallied separately from the votes cast for candidates in other numbered divisions within the circuit. The candidate receiving the highest number of the votes

- 96 cast within a numbered division shall be nominated or 97 elected, as the case may be.
- 98 (f) Judges serving a judicial circuit comprised of four or
- 99 more counties with two or more judges shall not be
- 100 residents of the same county.
- 101 (g) The Supreme Court of Appeals shall, by rule, estab-
- 102 lish the terms of court of circuit judges.

@ (=GCU1 - 326-C

The Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills hereby certifies that the foregoing bill is correctly enrolled. Chairman Senate Committee Chairman House Committee
Originated in the Senate.
Takes effect July 1, 2009. Clerk of the Senate
Clerk of the House of Delegates Of Roy Tomble
President of the Senate
The within 18 apported this the 1/2. Day of

PRESENTED TO THE GOVERNOR

MAY 5 2009

Time 11:05 hm